San Giljan crowned champions for 10th time with three games to spare



(3-2), (4-3), (4-1), (6-2)

San Giljan were crowned waterpolo champions for the 10th time in history after beating Sirens 17-7.

The saints dominated the waterpolo season this summer, notching win after win to seal their overall victory with three games to spare.

San Giljan have a 12-point advantage over Neptunes.

The saints have also won the winter league and President’s Cup earlier in the year.

San Giljan had a slow start as Sirens kept up the pace with their opponents, and on two occasions opened a one-goal advantage in the second session. But San Giljan quickly turned the tables to open a sizeable gap and went on to win 17-7.

San Ġiljan Tum Invest are mathematically champions of the Waterpolo scene for the 10thtime after they defeated Sirens Greentube 17-7 to win two titles from the last three years, stay with maximum points after 12 games and also continue their quest to win all the titles in 2017.

A performance that only was to their level in the third and fourth sessions after the first two sessions were characterised by pressure to win in front of a large crowd. Another five-star performance by their foreigner Aleksandar Ivovic who spearheaded his team especially after the break.

Credit also has to go for coach Marko Orlovic who managed to control all the quality he has in the team to create a powerful squad that is favourite to keep dominating the local scene.

San Ġiljan had a bright start to the game as they had a 3-1 advantage, but Christian Presciutti led his team to reduce the margin and finish the first session with only one-goal disadvantage. The Italian scoring machine even equalised in the second session, and John Brownrigg even put Sirens in front. After Ivovic equalised, David Cutajar regained Sirens’ lead. But a brace by Ivovic and Cousin put San Ġiljan in the driving seat.

After a not so brilliant performance in the first part of the game, San Ġiljan had the control of the game and after Cutajar responded to Borg’s goal, they dominated the game and deservedly scored three times from Matthew Zammit, Ben Plumpton and Dino Zammit to finish the session 11-6 in front and practically seal the game.

The last session confirmed San Ġiljan’s dominance as they continued to score more goals, with their opponents left helpless as they could only score in the last seconds, after six wonderful and powerful goals by San Ġiljan.

After the game, celebrations reached their climax, as the players and staff could celebrate with their supporters knowing that they can call themselves champions.

San Ġiljan: J. Tanti, P. Borg (1), A. Galea, T. Said, J. Galea, M. Zammit (3), B. Plumpton (2), Da. Zammit, A. Ivovic (7), A. Cousin (2), P. Fava, Di. Zammit (2), T. Micallef

Sirens: N. Grixti, J. Zerafa Gregory, C. Presciutti (3), J. Sciberras, M. Grech, I. Riolo, C. Mercieca, D. Cutajar (3), J. Napier, J. Brownrigg (1), G. Sammut, J. Cutajar, O. Gauci

Referees: Massimo Angileri, Paola Bensaia